Friday, September 27, 2013

KEEPER OF THE LOST CITIES: EXILE Giveaway

If you loved Shannon Messenger's KEEPER OF THE LOST CITIES and have been worried about whether or not the sequel will live up to your expectations, EXILE is even better than the first book. This is not a floppy sort of sequel or even an EMPIRE STRIKES BACK (if you know what I mean) kind of sequel. I love it.

Exile (Keeper of the Lost Cities, #2)

I especially love the friendship that develops between Sophie and Keefe and the alicorn. But for me, the most brilliant part of the novel is the way guilt cripples elves. I can't say more without spoiling.

If you haven't read KEEPER OF THE LOST CITIES, it's a series that would appeal to fans of FABLEHAVEN, HARRY POTTER, and PERCY JACKSON, a world within our world. It's fabulous.

And now, if you'd like to win a brand new hardcover copy of EXILE, tell me which character from the first book was your favorite (animals count). Or if you haven't read it, tell me which character most interests you. This contest is open internationally (as long as Book Depository ships to your address), but it closes tomorrow night, 10:00 PM (PDT).

There are a lot of great books coming out next month. Which ones are you most excited about?

8 comments:

  1. Not entering because I have an ARC I'm reading now. Haven't got to the guilt part yet. Glad you liked it so much.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I have not read these books, but my kids have and are dying to read the second! When she read the first Keeper of the Lost Cities my daughter said it was the best book she ever read. Her favorite character is Sophie because she can read minds.

    Thanks for the chance to win a copy!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I haven't read these yet, but I have to admit that the alicorn sounds awesome. Maybe I've watched too much My Little Pony or something. :-)

    ReplyDelete
  4. Replies
    1. Thank you! My kids will be thrilled to have this in their little hands! :-)

      Delete
  5. And I am sad to have missed this contest, because I just finished reading the first book a few days ago! And I loved it! And I noticed you were mentioned in the acknowledgements--pretty cool! :) Anyway, I'll have to pick up the sequel; glad to hear it won't disappoint. Even though I am too late--I love Keefe. Love his clever, cheerful banter, despite seeming bad circumstances at home.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm sorry you missed it, too! Yeah, ARCs don't have all of the extra stuff, so I didn't know I was in the acknowledgements until I read it again this summer. And when I pointed it out to my teenager, she, of course, already knew. If you love Keefe, you will really love this sequel.

      Delete